Skip Navigation
Stay Connected
  • USDA In Facebook
  • USDA In Twitter
  • USDA In Youtube
  • USDA govdelivery
  • USDA In Flickr

Advisory Committee on Minority Farms

The committee works in the interest of the public to ensure socially disadvantaged farmers have equal access to USDA programs. The committee shall advise the Secretary on:

  1. The implementation of section 2501 of the Food, Agriculture, Conservation and Trade Act of 1990 (7 U.S.C. 2279);
  2. Methods of maximizing the participation of socially disadvantaged farmers or ranchers in USDA programs; and
  3. Civil rights activities within USDA, as such activities relate to participants in USDA programs.

Members of the committee are appointed for 2 year terms by the Secretary. The committee is composed of socially disadvantaged farmers or ranchers, representatives from nonprofit organizations, civil rights professionals, representatives from institutions of higher learning, and such other persons as the Secretary deems appropriate.